Budapest began when an early Celtic settlement change

The recorded background of  Budapest began when an early Celtic settlement changed into the Roman town of Aquincum,[16][17] the capital of Lower Pannonia.[16] The Hungarians appeared in the area in the late 10th century,[18] yet the domain was ravaged by the Mongols in 1241–42.[19] Re-set up

Buda got one of the focal points of Renaissance humanist culture by the fifteenth century.[20][21][22] The Battle of Mohács, in 1526, was followed by very nearly 150 years of Ottoman rule.[23] After the reconquest of Buda in 1686, the region entered another time of flourishing, with Pest-Buda transforming into an overall city after the unification of Buda, Óbuda, and Pest on 17 November 1873, with the name ‘Budapest’ given to the new capital.[13][24]

Budapest moreover transformed into the co-capital of the Austro-Hungarian Empire,[25] a fantastic power that deteriorated in 1918, following World War I. The city was the purpose of combination of the Hungarian Revolution of 1848, the Battle of Budapest in 1945, and the Hungarian Revolution of 1956.[26][27]

Designations: Heart of Europe, Queen of the Danube, Pearl of the Danube, Capital of Freedom, Capital of Spas and Thermal Baths, Capital of Festivals

Budapest is arranged in HungaryBudapestBudapest

Region inside Hungary

Show guide of Hungary

Show guide of Europe

Show all

Bearings: 47°29′33″N 19°03′05″ECoordinates: 47°29′33″N 19°03′05″E

Country Hungary

Region Central Hungary

Unification of Buda, Pest and Óbuda 17 November 1873


23 Districts[show]


• Type Mayor – Council

• Body General Assembly of Budapest

• Mayor Gergely Karácsony (Dialog)


• Capital city 525.2 km2 (202.8 sq mi)

• Urban 2,538 km2 (980 sq mi)

• Metro 7,626 km2 (2,944 sq mi)

Elevation[6] Lowest (Danube) 96 m

Generally essential (János Hill) 527 m (315 to 1,729 ft)

People (2017)[7][8]

• Capital city 1,752,286[1]

• Rank 1st (10th in EU)

• Density 3,388/km2 (8,770/sq mi)

• Urban 2,997,958[5]

• Metro 3,011,598[4]

Demonyms Budapester, budapesti (Hungarian)

Time zone UTC+1 (CET)

• Summer (DST) UTC+2 (CEST)

Postal code(s)


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *